[ exact phrase in "" • results by date ]

[ Google-powered • results by relevance ]


Add NWW headlines to your site (click here)

Get weekly updates

when your community is targeted


RSS feeds and more

Keep Wind Watch online and independent!

Donate via Paypal

Donate via Stripe

Selected Documents

All Documents

Research Links


Press Releases


Campaign Material

Photos & Graphics


Allied Groups

Wind Watch is a registered educational charity, founded in 2005.

News Watch Home

50 community councils demand wind farm moratorium 

Credit:  The Galloway Gazette | 25 March 2014 | www.gallowaygazette.co.uk ~~

Fifty community councils from across Dumfries and Galloway have written to the First Minister demanding a moratorium on any further planning consent to wind farms.

The community councils – including Borgue, Castle Douglas, Garlieston, Isle of Whithorn, Kirkcowan, Kirkmaiden, New Luce, Portpatrick and Twynholm – are requesting that they, and the communities they represent, are provided with sufficient time and resources to make a thorough and impartial assessment of the pros and cons of the large number of wind farms proposed. Their letter has gone to both the First Minister and Dumfries and Galloway Council.

Currently, more than 300 wind farms are either operational, in the planning process or in the process of development across southern Scotland. Cumulatively these could have a profound impact on the landscape and wildlife. This is illustrated by a map produced by Scottish Natural Heritage demonstrating how Southern Scotland has more on shore wind farm developments proposed than any other area of the country.

The letter to the First Minister reflects the widespread local concern about the number and scale of wind farm proposals across the region. The letter follows recent independent reports; first, by the London School or Economics on the negative impact of wind farms on property prices, and secondly by the Mountaineering Council of Scotland highlighting the impact of wind farms on tourism in Scotland.

The letter signed by the 50 community councils – 80% of those who responded – asks both the Scottish Government and Dumfries and Galloway Council for a moratorium on wind farm applications until the cumulative effects can be properly assessed. Faced with a similar situation in mid Wales, Powys County Council agreed to such a moratorium.

The community councils that signed the letter are as follows:

Auchencairn Community Council

Borgue Community Council

Buittle Community Council

Caerlaverock Community Council

Canonbie & District Community Council

Carsphairn Community Council

Castle Douglas Community Council

Closeburn Community Council

Corsock & Kirkpatrick-Durham Community Council

Crossmichael & District Community Council

Cummertrees & Cummertrees West Community Council

Dalbeattie Community Council

Dalry Community Council

Dunscore Community Council

Eastriggs, Dornock & Creca Community Council

Garlieston Community Council

Glencairn Community Council

Heathhall Community Council

Irongray Community Council

Isle of Whithorn Community Council

Keir Community Council

Kelton Community Council

Kirkbean Community Council

Kirkcowan Community Council

Kirkmaiden Community Council

Kirkmichael Community Council

Kirkpatrick Fleming & District Community Council

Kirtle & Eaglesfield Community Council

Langholm, Ewes & Westerkirk Community Council

Lockerbie & District Community Council

Middlebie & Waterbeck Community Council

Moffat & District Community Council

New Abbey Community Council

New Luce Community Council

Parton Community Council

Portpatrick Community Council

Royal Burgh of Lochmaben Community Council

Royal Burgh of Whithorm & District Community Council

Royal Burgh of Wigtown & District Community Council

Ruthwell & Clarencefield Community Council

Southerness Community Council

Springfield & Gretna Green Community Council

Templand & District Community Council

Royal Burgh of Kirkcudbright and District Community Council

Thornhill Community Counil

Tinwald Community Council

Torthorwald Community Council

Twynholm Community Council

Tynron Community Council

Wamphray Community Council

correction: London School of Economics

Source:  The Galloway Gazette | 25 March 2014 | www.gallowaygazette.co.uk

This article is the work of the source indicated. Any opinions expressed in it are not necessarily those of National Wind Watch.

The copyright of this article resides with the author or publisher indicated. As part of its noncommercial educational effort to present the environmental, social, scientific, and economic issues of large-scale wind power development to a global audience seeking such information, National Wind Watch endeavors to observe “fair use” as provided for in section 107 of U.S. Copyright Law and similar “fair dealing” provisions of the copyright laws of other nations. Send requests to excerpt, general inquiries, and comments via e-mail.

Wind Watch relies entirely
on User Funding
   Donate via Paypal
(via Paypal)
Donate via Stripe
(via Stripe)


e-mail X FB LI TG TG Share

News Watch Home

Get the Facts
© National Wind Watch, Inc.
Use of copyrighted material adheres to Fair Use.
"Wind Watch" is a registered trademark.


Wind Watch on X Wind Watch on Facebook

Wind Watch on Linked In Wind Watch on Mastodon