[ exact phrase in "" • results by date ]

[ Google-powered • results by relevance ]


Add NWW headlines to your site (click here)

Get weekly updates

when your community is targeted


RSS feeds and more

Keep Wind Watch online and independent!

Donate via Paypal

Donate via Stripe

Selected Documents

All Documents

Research Links


Press Releases


Campaign Material

Photos & Graphics


Allied Groups

Wind Watch is a registered educational charity, founded in 2005.

News Watch Home

Following ethics law change, Hopkinton town councilman now eligible to vote on wind farm issues 

Credit:  By Matt Lindsey | North Country Now | June 21, 2017 | northcountrynow.com ~~

HOPKINTON – Following a change in Town of Hopkinton ethics law, a town councilman who was previously abstaining from voting on wind farm issues due to a conflict of interest will now be eligible to vote.

Town councilman Greg Crump is now able to vote on wind related issues, including setbacks, the overlay zone and sound decibel allowance.

Avangrid, a subsidiary of Iberdrola, is heading the North Ridge Wind Farm, which calls for about 40 wind towers to be constructed in Hopkinton and Parishville.

The town made the change last month after filing the appropriate paperwork with New York State, according to Sue Wood, town supervisor.

The change allows for members to vote on wind measures directly affecting cousins, aunts and uncles while still excluding votes affecting those with closer family relationships such as children, siblings and parents.

The board now has four members eligible to vote on wind-related laws.

Last month, North Country This Week reported that the Hopkinton Town Board would be powerless to override the St. Lawrence County Planning Board should it make a recommendation on the proposal to not expand the wind overlay zone, as well as any required changes to wind turbine setbacks and decibel limits the towers can produce.

Gilbert Sochia will continue to abstain because a close member of his family has signed a lease with Avangrid, Wood said.

Other town council members are Sue Lyon and Steve Parker.

Source:  By Matt Lindsey | North Country Now | June 21, 2017 | northcountrynow.com

This article is the work of the source indicated. Any opinions expressed in it are not necessarily those of National Wind Watch.

The copyright of this article resides with the author or publisher indicated. As part of its noncommercial educational effort to present the environmental, social, scientific, and economic issues of large-scale wind power development to a global audience seeking such information, National Wind Watch endeavors to observe “fair use” as provided for in section 107 of U.S. Copyright Law and similar “fair dealing” provisions of the copyright laws of other nations. Send requests to excerpt, general inquiries, and comments via e-mail.

Wind Watch relies entirely
on User Funding
   Donate via Paypal
(via Paypal)
Donate via Stripe
(via Stripe)


e-mail X FB LI TG TG Share

News Watch Home

Get the Facts
© National Wind Watch, Inc.
Use of copyrighted material adheres to Fair Use.
"Wind Watch" is a registered trademark.


Wind Watch on X Wind Watch on Facebook

Wind Watch on Linked In Wind Watch on Mastodon