[ exact phrase in "" • results by date ]

[ Google-powered • results by relevance ]


News Home

Subscribe to RSS feed

Add NWW headlines to your site (click here)

Sign up for daily updates

Keep Wind Watch online and independent!

Donate $10

Donate $5

Selected Documents

All Documents

Research Links


Press Releases


Publications & Products

Photos & Graphics


Allied Groups

Lee board OKs wind farm project; 12-9 vote overrules decision by lower panel  

Credit:  By DAVID GIULIANI | May 21, 2013 | www.saukvalley.com ~~

DIXON – The Lee County Board this morning voted 12-9 to allow a controversial wind farm, overruling a decision last month by the Zoning Board of Appeals.

The board approved the project, along with a number of conditions dealing with issues such as noise.

In April, the zoning board voted 3-2 against the proposal from Ireland-based Mainstream Renewable Power.

At today’s Lee County Board meeting, the audience was almost evenly divided between the wind farm’s supporters and opponents. Each side took its own area in the audience gallery.

On Friday, an attorney for the opponents contended the county needed a three-fourths majority to allow the wind farm. Hamilton Township had filed a written objection, the attorney said, which triggered the supermajority requirement.

However, Matt Klahn, an assistant state’s attorney for Lee County, said he researched the issue and found the three-fourths rule didn’t apply to special-use permits, which Mainstream was seeking.

Mainstream plans 53 turbines for the county’s southwestern corner.

Its proposal is part of a three-county wind farm, which includes Whiteside and Bureau counties. Last year, Whiteside County approved nine turbines, while Bureau County’s zoning panel recommended against Mainstream’s plan for 19 turbines, saying it didn’t meet the county’s requirements.

Mainstream withdrew its proposal in Bureau County, saying it planned to submit a new plan.

During the Lee County Board’s debate today, member Marilyn Shippert, R-Dixon, said it would be an insult to the zoning board to overrule its decision.

Others agreed, noting the panel had 27 sessions as part of the hearing on the project.

Member Tim Deem, R-Dixon, noted the project would bring jobs and hundreds of thousands of dollars in property tax revenue for school districts and other entities.

He also said he had gone by wind turbines and found noise and shadow flicker weren’t the problems that critics argued they were.

Allyn Buhrow, R-Ashton, said it was inappropriate to bring up money in making a zoning decision. Rather, he said, the purpose should be to protect the public’s health and safety.

He called wind turbines “the most intrusive special use we provide.”

Dick Binder, R-Compton, said many of those landowners allowing turbines on their properties are absentee. Many more residents in the project’s footprint, he said, will suffer the effects but won’t reap the financial rewards.

“To those who are looking at dollar signs,” Binder said, “are those dollars worth the tradeoff for 196 residents who will be affected for years to come?”

After the board’s decision, a number of residents spoke during public input to criticize the board.

Rick Porter, the attorney representing opponents, said he was disappointed in the decision, but called for a moratorium on new wind farms.

He said the county’s ordinance on wind farms was “antiquated,” urging the board to update it.

Bob Logan of Franklin Grove said the residents are the victims who have to come up with the money to fight turbines.

“From the beginning, you have been in bed with wind companies,” he said.

Pick up Wednesday’s Telegraph and Daily Gazette for more details.

How they voted

Here’s how Lee County Board members voted on the proposed Mainstream wind farm:


Kasey Considine, D-Amboy

Tim Deem, R-Dixon

Steve Kitzman, R-Dixon

Isaac Mercer, D-Dixon

Wes Morrissey, D-Amboy

John Nicholson, R-Franklin Grove

Bill Palen, R-Dixon

Ann Taylor, R-Amboy

Jim Wentling, R-Dixon

Marvin Williams, R-Dixon

Greg Witzleb, R-Dixon

Rick Ketchum, D-Amboy


Bob Gibler, R-Dixon

David Gusse, R-Dixon

Dick Binder, R-Dixon

Allyn Buhrow, R-Ashton

Judy Truckenbrod, R-West Brooklyn

Jerry Leffelman, R-Sublette

Marilyn Shippert, R-Dixon

Vern Gottel, R-rural Sterling

Bernie Buckley, R-Dixon


Tom Kitson, R-Dixon

Arlan McClain, R-Dixon

Note: The 24-member board has one vacancy, with the recent resignation of David Chandler, R-Dixon.

Source:  By DAVID GIULIANI | May 21, 2013 | www.saukvalley.com

This article is the work of the source indicated. Any opinions expressed in it are not necessarily those of National Wind Watch.

The copyright of this article resides with the author or publisher indicated. As part of its noncommercial effort to present the environmental, social, scientific, and economic issues of large-scale wind power development to a global audience seeking such information, National Wind Watch endeavors to observe “fair use” as provided for in section 107 of U.S. Copyright Law and similar “fair dealing” provisions of the copyright laws of other nations. Send requests to excerpt, general inquiries, and comments via e-mail.

Wind Watch relies entirely
on User Funding
Donate $5 PayPal Donate


News Watch Home

Get the Facts Follow Wind Watch on Twitter

Wind Watch on Facebook


© National Wind Watch, Inc.
Use of copyrighted material adheres to Fair Use.
"Wind Watch" is a registered trademark.