[ exact phrase in "" • results by date ]

[ Google-powered • results by relevance ]


News Home

Subscribe to RSS feed

Add NWW headlines to your site (click here)

Sign up for daily updates

Keep Wind Watch online and independent!

Donate $10

Donate $5

Selected Documents

All Documents

Research Links


Press Releases


Publications & Products

Photos & Graphics


Allied Groups

Wind turbine zoning approved; millages pass  

Credit:  By Don Reid | The Daily Reporter | August 5, 2020 | www.thedailyreporter.com ~~

BRANCH COUNTY – The Sherwood wind turbine zoning ordinance will take effect, approved by township voters, 321 to 157.

Branch County Concerned Citizens had mounted a campaign to lobby to create the law and to pass it. A petition to put the proposal to a vote was filed after it was passed unanimously by the township planning commission and board.

Incumbent supervisor James Smith had to recused himself from votes on the ordinance because he had signed leases with DTE for wind turbines. The township attorney ruled there was a conflict of interest.

Smith lost re-election to Aaron Robbins by a 213 to 156 vote. Robbins had support of the citizens group.

Former Coldwater police chief Gary Chester, a member of Concerned Citizens, had the group’s support but lost to longtime Union Township supervisor Ralph Strong. Strong, who opposed zoning for the township, won another term, 260 to 176.

In Matteson Township, trustee Kevin Barnes defeated incumbent supervisor Dave Johnson, 206 to 63. Johnson defeated veteran Democrat township supervisor Dennis Schumacher four years ago.

Johnson has been involved in a property zoning dispute with a neighbor since before taking office. A suit is pending in court by the township.

Voters in Bethel also declined to return former supervisor Norbert Drust to office. Larry LaMontagne won, 108 to 98. Drust did not seek re-election four years ago. He had been zoning aAdministrator but was removed by the township board in 2019 for Robert Hawley.

Algansee Township turned down incumbent trustee Harold Sneath, who received 126 votes. Elected were Jason Schilling, 241, and Rodney Bassage, 247. John Schilling, Jason’s father, declined to seek re-election.

Voters renewed for 10 more years a 0.2424 millage for Agency on Aging by a vote of 5,716 to 2,264. The money is for building maintenance and operation of Burnside Senior Center.

Bronson Township renewed its fire millage, 193 to 84.

Source:  By Don Reid | The Daily Reporter | August 5, 2020 | www.thedailyreporter.com

This article is the work of the source indicated. Any opinions expressed in it are not necessarily those of National Wind Watch.

The copyright of this article resides with the author or publisher indicated. As part of its noncommercial effort to present the environmental, social, scientific, and economic issues of large-scale wind power development to a global audience seeking such information, National Wind Watch endeavors to observe “fair use” as provided for in section 107 of U.S. Copyright Law and similar “fair dealing” provisions of the copyright laws of other nations. Send requests to excerpt, general inquiries, and comments via e-mail.

Wind Watch relies entirely
on User Funding
Donate $5 PayPal Donate


News Watch Home

Get the Facts Follow Wind Watch on Twitter

Wind Watch on Facebook


© National Wind Watch, Inc.
Use of copyrighted material adheres to Fair Use.
"Wind Watch" is a registered trademark.