News Home

[ exact phrase in "" • results by date ]

[ Google-powered • results by relevance ]


Subscribe to RSS feed

Add NWW headlines to your site (click here)

Sign up for daily updates

Keep Wind Watch online and independent!

Donate $10

Donate $5

Selected Documents

All Documents

Research Links


Press Releases


Publications & Products

Photos & Graphics


Allied Groups

Lake Township voters say windmills won’t turn here  

Credit:  By Kate Hessling, Assistant News Editor, Huron Daily Tribune, www.michigansthumb.com 29 February 2012 ~~

HURON COUNTY – Lake Township voters took a stand against wind farms Tuesday.

A referendum asking residents to approve the adoption of the township’s wind energy zoning ordinance was voted down 207-128, according to election-night results from Huron County Clerk Lori S. Neal-Wonsowicz.

The ordinance was adopted by the township planning commission, but it did not go into effect because a petition was filed in early July 2011 by resident Clay Kelterborn, who wanted to put the ordinance up for a vote of the people. Kelterborn could not be reached for comment late Tuesday.

The only other township to have a local proposal on Tuesday’s ballot was McKinley Township, where voters approved two proposals for road-related millages. The first asked voters to renew the current road improvement millage of 4 mills. It was approved 62-16, according to unofficial election results.

The second asked voters to approve paying an additional 2 mills for road improvements and other expenses. That proposal passed 50-28.

In the presidential primary, Huron County voters barely favored former Massachusetts governor Mitt Romney. He received 1,627 votes. Runnerup Rick Santorum, a former U.S. senator from Pennsylvania, received 1,623 votes.

U.S. Rep. Ron Paul of Texas received 397 votes. Former U.S. House Speaker Newt Gingrich received 249. Other votes went to: Michele Bachmann (12), Herman Cain (2), John Hunstman (7), Gary Johnson (1), Fred Karger (2), Rick Perry (12) and Buddy Roemer (11). Sixty-five votes cast on the Republican ticket were uncommitted.

On the Democratic ticket, President Barack Obama is running unopposed. He received 307 votes, and 68 Democrats voted uncommitted.

Voter turnout countywide totaled 4,483. That was down from the 4,687 out of 25,149 registered Huron County voters who participated in the last presidential primary election, according to Neal-Wonsowicz.

Source:  By Kate Hessling, Assistant News Editor, Huron Daily Tribune, www.michigansthumb.com 29 February 2012

This article is the work of the source indicated. Any opinions expressed in it are not necessarily those of National Wind Watch.

The copyright of this article resides with the author or publisher indicated. As part of its noncommercial effort to present the environmental, social, scientific, and economic issues of large-scale wind power development to a global audience seeking such information, National Wind Watch endeavors to observe “fair use” as provided for in section 107 of U.S. Copyright Law and similar “fair dealing” provisions of the copyright laws of other nations. Send requests to excerpt, general inquiries, and comments via e-mail.

Wind Watch relies entirely
on User Funding
Donate $5 PayPal Donate


News Watch Home

Get the Facts Follow Wind Watch on Twitter

Wind Watch on Facebook


© National Wind Watch, Inc.
Use of copyrighted material adheres to Fair Use.
"Wind Watch" is a registered trademark.