[ exact phrase in "" • results by date ]

[ Google-powered • results by relevance ]


News Home

Subscribe to RSS feed

Add NWW headlines to your site (click here)

Sign up for daily updates

Keep Wind Watch online and independent!

Donate $10

Donate $5

Selected Documents

All Documents

Research Links


Press Releases


Publications & Products

Photos & Graphics


Allied Groups

Concerns about the Government’s support for on-shore wind turbines  

Credit:  The Telegraph, www.telegraph.co.uk 29 February 2012 ~~

Over 100 MPs wrote to David Cameron on January 30 to express their concern about the Government’s policy of support for on-shore wind energy production. They felt it is unwise to make consumers pay, through a levy on their bills, for the quality of energy production that typifies on-shore wind turbines. They also asked the Government to cut dramatically the subsidy for on-shore wind and to spread the savings between other types of reliable renewable energy production and energy-efficiency measures.

The MPs also expressed concern that the new National Planning Policy Framework, in its current form, diminishes the chances of local people defeating unwanted on-shore wind farm proposals through the planning system, and set out some subtle changes to the existing wording that they felt would re-balance the planning system.

Finally, the MPs’ letter urged David Cameron to ensure that planning inspectors know that the views of local people and long-established planning requirements should always be taken into account. We agree with the views set out in that letter and we urge the Prime Minister to act on those recommendations.

Sir Christopher Audland
Dr David J Bellamy
Lord Carlile of Berriew (Lib Dem)
Michael Bruton
Chairman, Campaign to Protect Rural England (CPRE) Cornwall
William Cash
David Clarke
Chairman, CPRE North Yorkshire
Adam Dant
Dr John R Etherington
Bruce Green
Dr Michael J Hall
Sir Paul Hayter
Chairman, CPRE Northamptonshire
Roger Helmer MEP (Con)
Sir Bernard Ingham
Prof Michael Jefferson
Sir Timothy Kimber Bt
Prof Michael Laughton
Sir Mark Lennox-Boyd
Arabella Lennox-Boyd
Siân Lloyd
Prof James Lovelock
Elizabeth Mann
Vice Chairman, CPRE Durham
Lord Marlesford (Con)
Lord Moran
Lord Naseby (Con)
Rt Rev John Oliver
Lord Reay (Con)
Guy Schanschieff
Hugh Sharman
Struan Stevenson MEP (Con)
Prof Anthony Trewavas
David J White
Lord Williams of Elvel (Lab)
Brian Wood
Chairman, CPRE Oxfordshire

Source:  The Telegraph, www.telegraph.co.uk 29 February 2012

This article is the work of the source indicated. Any opinions expressed in it are not necessarily those of National Wind Watch.

The copyright of this article resides with the author or publisher indicated. As part of its noncommercial effort to present the environmental, social, scientific, and economic issues of large-scale wind power development to a global audience seeking such information, National Wind Watch endeavors to observe “fair use” as provided for in section 107 of U.S. Copyright Law and similar “fair dealing” provisions of the copyright laws of other nations. Send requests to excerpt, general inquiries, and comments via e-mail.

Wind Watch relies entirely
on User Funding
Donate $5 PayPal Donate


News Watch Home

Get the Facts Follow Wind Watch on Twitter

Wind Watch on Facebook


© National Wind Watch, Inc.
Use of copyrighted material adheres to Fair Use.
"Wind Watch" is a registered trademark.