[ exact phrase in "" • results by date ]

[ Google-powered • results by relevance ]


Add NWW headlines to your site (click here)

when your community is targeted

Get weekly updates

RSS feeds and more

Keep Wind Watch online and independent!

Donate via Stripe

Donate via Paypal

Selected Documents

All Documents

Research Links


Press Releases


Campaign Material

Photos & Graphics


Allied Groups

Wind Watch is a registered educational charity, founded in 2005.

News Watch Home

USDA-DOE Announce More Speakers For National Renewable Energy Conference 

The U.S. Departments of Energy (DOE) and Agriculture (USDA) today announced an updated list of distinguished speakers for Advancing Renewable Energy: An American Rural Renaissance, a conference jointly hosted by the two agencies. The conference aims to get the best minds together – key stakeholders in biofuels, wind, and solar energy – to discuss and ultimately help accelerate the research, development and deployment of alternative energy sources, the crux of President Bush’s Advanced Energy Initiative. Advancing Renewable Energy is scheduled for October 10-12, 2006, at America’s Center in St. Louis, Missouri.

Newly confirmed conference speakers include:

* Stephen L. Johnson, Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

* Jim Talent, U.S. Senator, Missouri

* S. Richard Tolman, Chief Executive Officer, National Corn Grower Association and

* Randall Swisher, Executive Director of the American Wind Energy Association, will serve as Masters of Ceremonies

Leaders from government and industry will address renewable energy topics such as: building supply and distribution; encouraging demand; adapting and building infrastructure; creating effective market models and partnerships; what the USDA and DOE are doing to advance renewable energy, as well as other timely topics. View the conference agenda at www.AdvancingRenewableEnergy.Gov.

The following are conference keynote speakers to date:

* Samuel Bodman–U.S. Secretary of Energy

* Mike Johanns–U.S. Secretary of Agriculture

* Red Cavaney–President and Chief Executive Officer, API

* Dr. Keith Collins, Chief Economist, U.S. Department of Agriculture

* Thomas C. Dorr, Under Secretary for Rural Development and Chairman of the USDA Energy Policy Committee

* Charles O. Holliday Jr., Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, DuPont

* Stephen L. Johnson, Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

* Alexander Karsner–Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, U.S. Department of Energy

* Vinod Khosla–Founder, Khosla Ventures; Co-Founder of Sun Microsystems; former Partner of Kleimer, Perkins, Kaufield & Byers, a venture capital firm

* Robert W. Lane–Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Deere and Company

* Dr. Raymond L. Orbach–Director, Office of Science, U.S. Department of Energy

* Matthew Simmons–Chariman and Chief Executive Officer, Simmons and Company International, a specialized energy investment banking firm

* Frederick L. Webber, President and Chief Executive Officer, Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers

* Patricia A Woertz–President, Chief Executive Officer, and Member of the Board of Directors, Archer Daniels Midland Company

* Pat Wood III–Chairman, North American Advisory Board, Airtricity, Inc.; former Chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

* James R. Woolsey–Vice President, Booz Allen Hamilton; former Director, Central Intelligence Agency

The following are conference panelists to date:

* Joe Jobe, CEO, National Biodiesel Board

* Mike Muston, Executive Vice President, Corporate Development, Broin Associates

* Don Endres, Chairman, and CEO, VeraSun

* Craig F. Rockey, Senior Vice President, Policy & Economics, Association of American Railroads

* Amory B. Lovins, Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Rocky Mountain Institute

* Dr. Robert T. Fraley, Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Monsanto Company

* Allen Rider, Steering Committee Member, 25×25 Ag Energy Project, Former President of New Holland North America, President, RGC

* Alan Waxman, Managing Director, Goldman-Sachs

* Thomas A. Wind, Professional Engineer, Owner, Wind Utility Consulting

* Joe Desmond, Under Secretary for Energy Affairs, California Resources Agency

* Greg Burger, President, CEO and Chairman of the Board, Minnwest Bank

* Professor Robert J. Thomas, Electrical Engineering, Cornell University

* Bob Dinneen, President and Chief Executive Officer, Renewable Fuels Association

* Robert B. Engel, President and Chief Executive Officer, CoBank

* Dr. Richard L. Sandor, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Chicago Climate Exchange

* Representative Carl Holmes, Kansas House of Representatives, Immediate past chairman National Council of State Legislators

* Vijay V. Vaitheeswaran, Author, Global Correspondent, The Economist

* Dr. Donald L. Paul, Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Chevron

* Michael Eckhart, President, American Council on Renewable Energy

* Kevin D. Best, Chief Executive Officer and Founding Partner, Real Energy LLC

* Glen English, Chief Executive Officer, National Rural Electric Cooperative Association

* Howard A. Learner, President and Executive Director, Environmental Law and Policy Center

* Dr. Dan E. Arvizu, Director, DOE’s National Renewable Energy Laboratory.

Attendance is open to the public. Anyone involved with renewable energy is encouraged to attend, including transportation, finance, and investment officials; other Federal and State Government officials; and elected officials. All attendees must register for the conference, including press, who may attend without charge.

Attendees and press can register online at www.AdvancingRenewableEnergy.gov .
Related Links

U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)

U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)

Contact Information

Jim Brownlee

U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
(202) 720-4623

U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
9/25/2006 1:15:47 PM


This article is the work of the source indicated. Any opinions expressed in it are not necessarily those of National Wind Watch.

The copyright of this article resides with the author or publisher indicated. As part of its noncommercial educational effort to present the environmental, social, scientific, and economic issues of large-scale wind power development to a global audience seeking such information, National Wind Watch endeavors to observe “fair use” as provided for in section 107 of U.S. Copyright Law and similar “fair dealing” provisions of the copyright laws of other nations. Send requests to excerpt, general inquiries, and comments via e-mail.

Wind Watch relies entirely
on User Contributions
   Donate via Stripe
(via Stripe)
Donate via Paypal
(via Paypal)


e-mail X FB LI M TG TS G Share

News Watch Home

Get the Facts
© National Wind Watch, Inc.
Use of copyrighted material adheres to Fair Use.
"Wind Watch" is a registered trademark.


Wind Watch on X Wind Watch on Facebook Wind Watch on Linked In

Wind Watch on Mastodon Wind Watch on Truth Social

Wind Watch on Gab Wind Watch on Bluesky