December 1, 2005
General News

Governor’s Offshore Wind Energy Panel Releases Interim Report

“I encourage the public to offer their comments on this important document,” Codey said.  “This is an opportunity for residents to play a key role in shaping New Jersey’s clean energy choices.  With the public’s help, we will be able to pursue the best options for our state.”

The interim report is accessible on the panel’s Web site at

During the next phase of their work, the panel will seek public input on the content, accuracy, and scope of the findings.  Comments may be submitted to the panel through their Web site.  The final report, including specific policy recommendations, will be submitted to Governor-elect Jon S. Corzine next March.

“Many of the issues addressed in this report were brought to our attention by thousands of stakeholders and citizens of New Jersey,” said Edward J. McKenna, Jr., the panel’s chair.  “I look forward to further public input as we continue this important discussion of New Jersey’s energy future.”

Codey directed the Blue Ribbon Panel to assess the environmental and economic impacts of offshore wind turbines and examine whether wind turbines are an appropriate alternative energy source for New Jersey.  The executive order signed by Codey on Dec. 23 outlined the goals of this study and established a 15-month moratorium on funding and permitting of offshore wind turbine facilities.

The Blue Ribbon Panel will hold a public meeting on Tuesday, Dec. 20, 2005.  The meeting will be heldat theState House Annex, Committee Room 1 in Trenton from 6-9 p.m.

A second public meeting, which will be held in the one of the coastal counties, will be announced at a later date.

The Blue Ribbon Panel includes six public members:

Edward J. McKenna, Jr., Mayor of Red Bank, chairman of the Panel, and member of the State Planning Commission;

Timothy P. Dillingham, Executive Director of the American Littoral Society;

Theodore J. Korth, Special Counsel to the New Jersey Audubon Society;

Bonnie J. McCay, Rutgers Board of Governors Distinguished Service Professor at Cook College and Vice Chair of the Marine Protected Areas Federal Advisory Committee, U.S. Department of Commerce and Department of Interior;

Scott A. Weiner, Director for the Center for Energy, Economic and Environmental Policy at the Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy at Rutgers.

Diane Wieland, Director of the Cape May County Department of Tourism, Chair of the Southern Shore Regional Tourism Council and a member of the Governor’s Tourism Advisory Council; and

Three ex officio voting members:

Bradley M. Campbell, Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Protection;

Jeanne M. Fox, President of the Board of Public Utilities; and

Virginia S. Bauer, Chief Executive Officer and Secretary of the New Jersey Commerce, Economic Growth and Tourism Commission.

For additional information regarding offshore wind and the Blue Ribbon Panel, visit

URL to article: